The Weather in Georgia- If You Don’t Like It…

Standard

If you don’t like the weather in Georgia, just wait a day and it will change.  This is something I’ve heard time and time again, but this winter it really seems to be true.

It is hard to believe that just two days ago we were iced in solidly here in Georgia.  Schools and businesses were closed, the roadways were ghostly with no vehicles traveling them, and the grocery store shelves were near empty.  You couldn’t have found a loaf of bread or gallon of milk anywhere in my town if you tried. It was cold, cold, cold, and wet, wet, wet. We were watching and waiting for the rain to turn to ice, and the ice to turn to snow.

My pot of soup was simmering in the crockpot, candles were lined up on the dining room table, and my solar flashlight was absorbing whatever power it could get from the bedroom windowsill. I sat at my window, watching the icicles form on the power lines, and dreamed of springtime, jonquils, and puffy white clouds.

Then, it was over. Yesterday the sun came out, the ice and snow began to melt, and I shed my heavy jacket to take Sunshine for a walk. Amazing! One day I am shivering, and the next day I am feeling the warmth of the sun on my face.

Today, the change is even more remarkable. Who would believe that this bright, sunshiny world was a black-and-white picture two days ago. There is very little evidence that a winter storm passed through my town, and with Valentine’s Day, everyone is now talking about roses and chocolates. No more concern about milk and bread – that worry is long gone, and soon to be forgotten. Spring is peeking around the corner, and we are done with winter.

But, who knows. In Georgia, if you don’t like the weather today, just be patient and it will change.  I only hope that it will change for the warmer and brighter, and wait until next year to treat us to another winter storm. I’ve had enough winter for awhile!

Leave a Reply

