Changes in Attitude

Standard

Three days ago while sitting on my favorite pity potty, I was anticipating Mother’s Day with something less than enthusiasm. I had no plans for the day, both of my sons are on opposite coasts of the US and far away from me, I missed my mom and longed to talk to her, and I was pretty much feeling sorry for myself. While bemoaning my situation with a few friends, I stated that there was no way I would spend this special day sitting at home alone all day long. I would hop into my car with my little dog, Sunshine, and take off for parts unknown to spend the Mother’s Day holiday.

Then a song popped into my head that wouldn’t let go. Thank you very much, Jimmy Buffett. One verse and the chorus, in particular, got stuck, repeating itself over and over in my mind.

“Oh, yesterdays are over my shoulder,

So I can’t look back for long.

There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me,

And I know that I just can’t go wrong.

With these changes in latitudes,

Changes in attitudes nothing remains quite the same.

With all of our running and all of our cunning,

If we couldn’t laugh, we would all go insane.”

Since I can’t change my latitude for Mother’s Day, I decided to change my attitude. I got off of my pity potty, gave it a good flush, and determined to enjoy Mother’s Day without feeling the need to run away from something. While I sit at my computer writing this, I have to admit that I am looking back over my life, but I am taking Jimmy’s advice to not do it for long. I have so much out there in front of me, and I am determined to embrace this special day of reflection as I ready myself for whatever is coming next.

I am not running away today with Sunshine to try to escape my loneliness. In fact, as I write this, I don’t feel one bit sad or lonely! Sunshine is curled up at my feet, and I have a hunch that she would prefer to spend this morning in the same position, and possibly go for a walk in her favorite park this afternoon. I know my sons will phone me sometime today, and we will talk and laugh and remember. I know I will think about my precious mom all day long, and tears will well up with my memories of what a very special person she was, And I know that with my change in attitude, this Mother’s Day is going to be one of the best ones ever.

Jimmy Buffett, thanks again for the reminder.

Leave a comment