Put It In A Jar and Can It!

Standard

Sometimes a day is so beautiful, I wish I could bottle and preserve it, the way I do my jams and jellies, to bring out at a later date to brighten perhaps a cloudy and dreary day. This has been one of those days.

I am not on vacation, but I felt like I was as I sat on the deck of a lovely swimming pool this morning, sipping a cup of delicious coffee, with nothing better to do than to gaze at the clouds lazily drifting across the clear blue sky above me, and listen to the sound of the birds chirping in the early morning as they talked to each other, calling from tree to tree. A gentle breeze carried the aromas of the Georgia countryside, and I could smell someone cooking breakfast somewhere not too far away. I leaned back in my deck chair, rested my head back and gazed at the sky, letting the breeze carry away every worry and care I might have been harboring.

As I sat there alone, listening, observing, smelling, and feeling, all of my senses told me that this was a morning to treasure. I rested my head against the back of my chair, set my cup of coffee down, and let my thoughts wander in whatever direction they desired. I briefly thought about the past few years and how tough they were, but then the songs of the birds brought me back to the present, and I became keenly aware of how things have changed, and how the bad days are behind me, becoming fainter and fainter in my rearview mirror. I don’t know what tomorrow has in store for me, but for today, the morning was enough – more than enough.

I know that I am not able to spend every morning in this fashion, and that this one was one to treasure. It was restorative and healing. Besides that, it was just plain beautiful!

Perhaps I have bottled it and preserved it, not in a Mason jar, but on this page.

Maybe that’s what writing is all about.

Leave a Reply

