You Don’t Have To Go Far To Be At A Resort

Standard

I am staying at “the resort” this week. And it is wonderful.

Actually, I am housesitting for my friend, George, while he is at the beach on vacation with his family. I am staying here to look after the house, his two dogs, and Grace, the hen. While I don’t have the responsibility of taking care of the horses, goats, and all of the other hens, I am enjoying keeping my eye on them to make sure they are ok. But I don’t have to feed and water them. Nice.

Being here has been a Godsend for me. Yesterday I finished the 21-day online meditation program on gratitude and grace, offered through the Chopra Center. This is the perfect setting for me to contemplate all that has been brought to my attention through this series, and I am feeling grace and gratitude flowing and weaving through my being, interlacing in one warm, comforting hug. The quiet peace of the country surroundings, the sparkling water of the swimming pool, the inviting swaying of the yard swing as a breeze sets it in gentle motion – all of these things have heightened my senses and swept out the cobwebs from my spirit. I have had the opportunity to look at my life from a new vantage point, and re-examine where I am and where I want to go.

Gratitude and grace. You can’t have one without the other. The more I express my gratitude and become aware of new reasons to be grateful, the more I feel God’s grace touching my heart and soul, tugging me in new directions for my life, and assuring me that, even with my faults and short-comings, I am loved and cherished.

I am not a perfect person. Far from it. But I am me, and I am the only me that ever has been, ever is, and ever will be. There will never be another me in all eternity. Some people might say, “Thank God!” with a tone of sarcasm, exasperation, or disapproval in their voices. But I say “Thank God!” with all the gratitude and joy I can muster. No, I am not perfect. I have made a ton of mistakes, and continue to falter and miss the mark of who I was created to be. But I have a God who is full of grace and love, and who has enabled me to realize how grateful I am for everything in my life – good, bad, boring, exciting, exhilarating, frightening, and everything else in between.

I will return to my home next week, even though I’ll continue to visit “the resort”. It will be different, though, because this week has happened, and it has made a permanent imprint in the essence of this place. Gratitude and grace. I am so very grateful that I have this wonderful retreat available to me for renewing my spirit and feeling God’s grace.

All I can say is “I am grateful.”

Leave a Reply

