Those Who Sling Mud….

Standard

usually have dirty hands.

It has been a rough few months. I knew I needed to make a change in my life, but I wasn’t surefooted enough to take the step until a few weeks ago. The signs had been pointing in the direction I should take for several months, but I tried first to work around them, and then ignore them – neither tactic worked. I finally made a decision when my body let me know in no uncertain terms that I could no longer safely accomplish some of the more physical tasks of my job. I was also very weary of the drama whirling around me and knew I needed to free myself from the battering winds. I felt like I was doing the right thing for myself, and for those involved. It seems, however, that I took a misstep along my way, and ended up wiping mud off of my face and body.

This has made me take a closer look at myself, who I am, what I say, and how I present myself to others. I admit that I got caught up in some of the gossip, drama, and other not-so-nice things that were part of my everyday life. I wish I could go back and un-say some of the things I said when I participated in this activity, but I can’t. I wish I had been stronger, more assertive, and less swayed by what was being said to me, what was said within earshot, and what I observed daily. I wish I had turned a deaf ear and minded my own business. I wish I had kept my mouth shut at certain times.

So, now that I am a recent recipient (and it isn’t the first time) of the drama du jour and workplace gossip, I wish I were braver, or perhaps more reckless, and could sling a little mud back. But I am choosing to let it all go, to walk away quietly, and to learn a little something from the experience.

But one thing I certainly can do is wash the mud off of my own hands, step out of the mud puddle, and set up housekeeping on dry land. The drama and gossip will continue without my assistance – I am sure of it – and someone else most likely will be the lucky recipient of future mud pies.

Gossip is a terrible thing. My son, Brian, wrote a brilliant one-act play entitled “Gossip.” Reading it, and seeing it performed clearly shows how damaging gossip can be, and how it reaches far beyond the giver and the recipient. This play is making its rounds worldwide, and I invite my blog readers to grab a copy or catch a performance of it. It is available for sale through Pioneer Drama Service. I need to read it again and be reminded of its lesson.

For me, my hands have been washed, and I intend to keep them mud-free.

2 thoughts on “Those Who Sling Mud….

  1. Toni

    You can do this!! Life always seems to throw curve balls at us, but just keep going on….don’t let regrets hold you down. I am learning to forgive myself and just walk away from the drama. Stand strong…while holding Our Father’s hand. I admire you so much. You and I have a lot in common so know I am here for you…sending you love and encouragement!! Toni

Leave a Reply

