A Heart-to-Heart Conversation with Facebook

Standard

Facebook, you and I need to have a little talk.

When I signed on to social media in 2008, I did so at the urging of my son-in-law, who told me Facebook was a great way to keep up with my family and friends and to share photos and life experiences with them. It would also be a quick way, he assured me, to check in with my family to know what was going on in their lives and to keep them updated on what was happening in mine.

Facebook, you have let me down. Or rather, people on Facebook have let me down. And I am angry that I can’t visit you now and then to touch base with my family and friends without getting upset. Instead, when I open my Facebook page, I am bombarded with stuff I have no desire to see, hear, or know about.

I’m talking primarily about the recent presidential election. I was for neither candidate, and I felt that we had pretty poor choices for our country’s leadership. But one of them was elected, and I am still – three months later – reading horrible things from both camps about the other. I understand that you are an avenue for people to express their opinions and beliefs, but I don’t understand why I have to read through these in an effort to find the kind of news I want to see. Before you were part of my life, I didn’t know (or care) who won the Golden Globe Award or what the winner’s speech was about. I wasn’t subjected to venomous rantings about people who followed certain political parties (and I am talking about BOTH of them). I wasn’t exposed to the hatred that seems to permeate throughout the postings on your pages.

I have already unfriended some folks that I really care about, because they are using you as their platform for airing their grievances, fears, and anger to the universe. And I am seriously considering saying goodbye to you altogether. I hate to do this, because I truly enjoy keeping in touch with my Facebook friends, looking at photos of children and grandchildren, learning about travel and life events, finding delicious new recipes and neat DIY ideas, and offering up a prayer when someone is hurting or ill. This week I have watched as my son travels cross-country to his new home in California from New York, and I have savored each message and photo that he has posted along his way. I have also celebrated a few birthdays with some dear friends, and have read about life milestones, major decisions, and other bits of personal news that I wouldn’t know about if it weren’t for your presence in my life.

Facebook, I have tried to figure out a way to block messages that I don’t want to look at. As a librarian, I would love to catalog them into neat little boxes, and then have the ability to choose those categories I want to look at. But I don’t have that luxury or choice, beyond your birthday bar on my personal bulletin board. I have to plow through the venom to get to the new grandchild, the family reunion, the latest travel destination, or the graduation celebration.

On a personal basis, I have to admit that I am easily sucked in. I have a hard time scrolling past items that look distasteful to me. I am compelled to give them a quick perusal, almost always ending up with an upset stomach and angrily clicking off of you until I can settle down and breathe normally. This is not my idea of social media. It seems more like anti-social media to me.

I don’t know what to do, Facebook.

I am holding on by a thread and not pulling the plug completely yet, because I know you have many redeeming qualities that I value. But I am not happy with you, Facebook, not one bit. And I’m not sure what to do about it.

For now, I think I will continue to write in my blog and share my collection of days with my Facebook friends. And, yes, I will use you as my portal for sharing what I write. I will also post photos on your pages that I want to save and share.

But I’m going to have to think long and hard about what our relationship is going to be for the future. Facebook, you and I are in serious trouble. I think we need to separate for awhile and give each other some needed space. Whether we split for good will be something to consider down the road. I am hoping our relationship can be salvaged and that we can reconcile our problems. There is so much good in you, and so much potential, I can’t cut the cord quite yet.

Facebook, I have some thinking to do.

One thought on “A Heart-to-Heart Conversation with Facebook

  1. Scottie

    I know the feeling, Jennie. I, too, try to scroll past the venom and hate that has appeared daily,especially since the election. In all my 68 years I have never seen the level of vitriol that’s has spewed forth as a result of of it all. I realize that feelings on both sides are intense, but I also know that the continued hateful rhetoric does nothing but perpetuate more of the same.

    I have not come to the point of leaving FB yet, however. It’s tempting, but I have so enjoyed renewing old friendships online and getting a glimpse into the lives of friends I haven’t seen in many years. In addition, many of my former students are on FB, and I get so much joy out of seeing them finish college, get jobs, get married, have children, and live wonderful lives years after they were seated in my classroom. Not all the news is good, of course, because there is the inevitable loss of a former student in a car accident, in the military, etc., but that also gives me a chance to pray for their families as they face such a horrific loss.

    It’s a quandary, for sure, this thing we call social media. Does the good outweigh the bad? Some days it does and some days it doesn’t. Of course, my hope and prayer would be for a coming together of people in this country to work for the good of our nation instead of just constantly complaining and saying nasty things. I know that may not happen, so I guess each of us will have to decide if the pleasure we get from being able to communicate with people we rarely get to see outweighs the junk we just have to get past as quickly as possible. For me, I’m not ready to call FB quits entirely yet. Love and hugs to you and your family, friend.

Leave a Reply

